About 19 Parliamentarians who were elected to the August house on May 20 tripartite election as Independent MPs have petitioned the Speaker of the National Assembly honourable Richard Msowoya to locate them to the ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) bench.

Msowoya Confirmed of the development through a statement made public during Parliament deliberations on Monday afternoon, saying the 19 MPs would like to work with government in developing their Constituencies.

Among the notable MPs who petitioned asking for re-location include Rashid Gaffar of Blantyre Kabula Constituency and Allan Ngumuya.

The development has raised the number of DPP MPs from 49 to 68 beating Malawi Congress Party (MCP) which is currently having 52 MPs.




You May Also Like


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

From The World