In what is regarded as a ‘tit-for-tat’ game, the Malawi government says from October 1, 2015 it will start issuing visa fees for foreign national whose countries require Malawians to pay visa to enter their countries.

The exercise was expected to kick start on July 1, 2015 with Americans being the target but the exercise was withdrawn due to pressure from American Embassy in Lilongwe.

Minister of Home Affairs and Internal Security, Dr. Jean Kalilani confirmed of the development with the Press on Monday in Lilongwe.

Kalilani said the changes will not affect: Nationals from the Southern African Development Community (SADC) countries, except Angola; nationals from the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA); Diplomats and Government officials; and nationals from all countries that do not require Malawian nationals to pay visa fees when traveling to such countries.

“The validity of multiple entry visas (6 months and 12 months) shall reciprocate to the validity of multiple entry visa in the corresponding country,” said Kalilani.

Meanwhile the Minister has quashed rumours circulating on the social media that government has introduced Visa fees as one way of generating funds to support the noise diving economy.

You May Also Like


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

From The World