The Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) is scheduled to hold a re-run election in Lilongwe City South East Constituency on June 6, 2017.

The Supreme Court annulled the 2014 Lilongwe south east Parliamentary election’s results and called for a re-run on grounds that there was rigging. The ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) member Bentry Namasasu was declared winner of the election.

In a statement issued on Tuesday made available to faceofmalawi, MEC Acting Chief of Elections Thandie Nkovole said the body has resolved to hold the re-run election in the said constituency together with the by-elections Lilongwe Msozi North Constituency.

“Following the ruling by the Supreme Court of Appeal regarding the May 2014 parliamentary elections results for Lilongwe City South East Constituency, the Commission hosted a National Elections Consultative Forum (NECOF) on April 4, 2017 in Lilongwe to appraise the stakeholders on the way forward.

During the meeting the Commission informed the stakeholders that it will conduct by-elections in Lilongwe City South East Constituency on 6th June, 2017. To harness synergies and optimal utilisation of resources, these by-elections will be held together with by-elections in other places that are currently vacant,” reads in part the statement.

Nkovole also disclosed that the commission has already started preparing for the 2019 general election.

You May Also Like


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

From The World