The first ever Presidential debate ahead of the forthcoming May 21 tripartite election is scheduled to take place on March 29, 2019 at Bingu International Convention Centre (BICC) in the capital Lilongwe, faceofmalawi can reveal.

This comes barely hours before Zodiak Broadcasting Station (ZBS) host final Presidential runningmates debate at Grand Palace in Mzuzu.

According to information at hand, the debate will start at 6pm and will be attended by four Presidential torchbearers namely; President Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika of the ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP), Lazarus Chakwera of Malawi Congress Party (MCP), Dr. Saulos Chilima of United Transformation Movement (UTM) and Atupele Muluzi of United Democratic Front (UDF).

Opposition People’s Party (PP) President Dr. Joyce Banda will not take part in the debate following her decision to pull out on the Presidential race and form an alliance with MCP.

Media Institute of Southern Africa (MISA Malawi) chairperson Teresa Ndanga confirmed of the debate date in a poster seen by faceofmalawi reporter.

According to Ndanga, the second Presidential debate will be held on April 2, 2019 and the third Presidential debate will be held on April 5, 2019.

Meanwhile it is doubtful if President Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika of DPP will attend all the Presidential debates.

Two weeks ago DPP through its Secretary General Grelzedar Jeffrey issued a statement saying the party will not attend debates.

The party accused organisers of the said debates of being biased.

You May Also Like


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

From The World