CPJ welcomes Malawi’s repeal of news censorship law


The Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) welcomes last weeks vote in the Malawi parliament that repealed an amendment to the country’s Penal Code which allowed the government to ban any news “not in the public interest.”

The amendment to Article 46 of the Penal Code was first introduced in November 2010 under the late president Bingu Wa Mutharika, and passed last year, but was never implemented, according to news reports.

The law would have allowed the information minister to ban any publication it deemed contrary to public interest for an unspecified period of time, news reports said. Its implementation was suspended pending constitutional review after it was challenged by local and international press freedom and civil society groups.

Local journalists told CPJ that all of the parliament members except one had supported the repeal – even former information minister Symon Vuwa, who had been one of the principal proponents of the law.

“We applaud parliament’s decision to repeal this draconian legislation, which would have institutionalized censorship,” said CPJ East Africa consultant Tom Rhodes. “We urge the government to build on this by ensuring the press can work freely and without fear of reprisal.”

Press freedom conditions deteriorated under former president Mutharika’s leadership, according to CPJ research. In March, Albert Mungomo, a former government spokesman, issued a statement warning journalists that the government would use a colonial-era law to imprison and fine them for any material it found insulting to the president, according to news reports.

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:

Featured Video

click to play


More like this

Female Pastor Found Dead In Her Ex-Boyfriend’s Wardrobe

Kenyan pastor Elizabeth Githinji, who had a past relationship...

Drama During Wedding Ceremony As Bride Reads Unfaithful Groom’s Texts at Instead of Vows

A bride in Australia took the ultimate revenge on...

“You see it, you like it?”- Slay queen quizzes as she flaunts her nyἆsh online (Watch video)

A slay queen recently created buzz on social media...

EGENCO renovates its power generating machines affected by Cyclone Freddy

Electricity customers in the country have a reason to...