Flames coach Kinnah Phiri has settled for a 16-member final squad which leaves Thursday for Cecafa Tusker Senior Challenge Cup in Uganda.

Moses Chavula will captain the side that has rookies such as Bongani Kaipa, Micium Mhone, Patrick Masanjala, Innocent Bokosi, George Nyirenda, Owen Chaima and Richard Chipuwa.

There are six players from the squad that reached the quarter final in the last Cecafa Cup edition held in Tanzania last year.

In a statement made available to Supersport.com, FAM chief executive officer Suzgo Nyirenda said the team will depart at 13:15 hours boarding a Kenya Airways flight from Lilongwe and they are expected to arrive at Entebbe Airport at 23:45 hours.

The remaining six players (four players from Blue Eagles and two from Escom) will leave on Sunday after fulfilling the Carlsberg Malawi Cup semifinals fixtures.

The Malawi delegation will be accommodated at Hotel Inter Tropics in Kampala and the teams’ first assignment will be against Rwanda. The other teams in Malawi’s group C include Zanzibar and Eritrea.

Goalkeepers: Charles Swini (Silver Strikers), Owen Chaima (Big Bullets), Richard Chipuwa (Wanderers FC)

Defenders: Foster Namwera, Moses Chavula, Bongani Kaipa (Wanderers FC), Steve Chagoma (Blue Eagles), George Nyirenda (Big Bullets), Pirira Makupe, John Lanjesi (CIVO)

Midfielders: Joseph Kamwendo (Wanderers FC), Patrick Masanjala, Micium Mhone (Blue Eagles), Ndaziona Chatsalira (Silver Strikers), Chimango Kayira (Big Bullets), Bernard Harawa (ESCOM)

Strikers: Chiukepo Msowoya (ESCOM), Rodrick Gonani, Green Harawa (Silver Strikers), Innocent Bokosi (Blue Eagles)

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel: