Lawyers representing eleven people arrested in connection with the succession stand off immediately after the death of former president Bingu wa Mutharika are scheduled to apply for bail today.

The people, who include senior members of the opposition Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) and some government officials, have spent a night in police custody in Lilongwe after the lawyers failed to obtain bail yesterday.

They include former cabinet ministers in the DPP regime, also known as the ‘midnight six’; Patricia Kaliati, Jean Kalirani, Symon Vuwa Kaunda, Henry Mussa, Kondwani Nankhumwa, Nicholas Dausi.

DPP interim leader Peter Mutharika, former chief secretary to the government Bright Msaka, who has been interdicted, and economic planning minister and former DPP vice president Goodall Gondwe.

Peter is facing charges of soliciting to break the law and tendering false evidence to the commission of inquiry.

The rest have been charged with sedition and soliciting to break the law.

(Visited 11 times, 1 visits today)


Subscribe to our Youtube Channel :

Follow Us on Instagram