Afraid of the 2014 race: Mutharika to still contest as MP


It is hard to predict the future, so hard to be sure of oneself.

The Democratic Progressive Party torch-bearer in the 2014 elections, Peter Mutharika, has just won primary elections in his Thyolo East Constituency where he has passed through unopposed.

Mutharika follows through the footsteps of Vice President Kachali who also won the primaries of Peoples’ Party in his constituency.

The laws of the land cannot allow a person operating in the office of Presidency to be a Parliamentarian, thus their seats are declared vacant if they win and by-elections are conducted in those areas.

So sure of himself, Mutharika’s brother, late Bingu wa Mutharika, did not contest as a Member of Parliament for the 2004 elections in which he won with a landslide.

DPP members have always said that their leader will depose the current President, Joyce Banda, come 2014 May.

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:

Featured Video

click to play


More like this

Police Officer Allegedly Kills Girlfriend at University of Zambia

Zambia is in shock after a brutal murder that...

Watch as Slay Queen trends on social media with her new fashion

Unidentified Slay Queen has outclassed South Africa's pant-less star...

ACB denies obtaining Colleen Zamba’s arrest warrant

The Anti-Corruption Bureau has denied social media reports that...