A total of eight political parties on Tuesday signed a memorandum of understanding to bind their electoral alliance ahead of the May 20 tripartite polls.

The grouping, called Tisintha Alliance has brought together Aford, Mafunde, New Labour Party, National Unity Party, Malawi Democratic Party, Congress for National Unity, Republican Party and Maravi People’s Party.

The signing ceremony took place in Blantyre where most party representatives, save for Aford, were present.

Speaking during the signing ceremony chairperson of the coalition, George Mnesa says this alliance will give an opportunity for Malawians to have an informed choice of electing leadership that will transform the country.

Mnesa, who is also Mafunde president, disclosed that the alliance will elect its presidential candidate and running mate on Thursday and launch its manifesto on Feb 20.

This is not the first time for Malawian parties to form an alliance but mostly they have ended up flopping and not achieving anything tangible as they dissolve soon after elections.

(Visited 11 times, 1 visits today)


Subscribe to our Youtube Channel :

Follow Us on Instagram