The newly elected Members of Parliament are being sworn-in today at a ceremony  being held at Parliament Building in Lilongwe.

According to the Press Statement from Malawi National Assembly, after the swearing in ceremony ,the new members will go on a week-long training to be held  at Bingu International Conference Centre (BICC).

Out of 192 seats, the  ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) has managed to secure 50 seats, Malawi Congress Party (MCP) 48 seats, People’s Party (PP) 26, United Democratic Front (UDF) 15 seats, Alliance for Democracy (AFORD), Chipani Chafuko one seat and 52 Independent seats.

Among the new MPs is former First Lady Patricia Shinil Dzimbiri an Independent MP for Balaka West.

(Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)


Subscribe to our Youtube Channel :

Follow Us on Instagram