Scaling up comprehensive sexuality education and reproductive health services for adolescents and young people across Eastern and Southern Africa

The Malawi’s first lady Gertrude Hendrina Mutharika became the latest member to join the Eastern and Southern Africa (ESA) Commitment’s High Level Group composed of prominent leaders from the eastern and Southern Africa region who oversee the Implementation of the ESA commitment.

The eastern and southern Africa was endorsed on 7 December 2013 by Minsters of education and health who have committed to scale-up delivery of comprehensive sexuality education, sexual reproductive health services for adolescents and people across the region.

This Commitment will help to address many challenges facing young people in the region. For example, more than 35 per cent of young women have experienced some form of sexual violence at some point in their lives.

In addition, HIV infections continue to be an urgent issue with an estimated 430,000 new infections every year among young people aged 15 to 24.

Salma kikwele, first lady of Tazania, spoke on behalf of the high Level Group, congratulating and welcoming the newst  member,  Madame Mutharika: “I am confident that working together as First Ladies, we will make a meaningful contribution to positive health outcomes for our young people. We congratulate her on the appointment.”

Speaking at an official dinner that took place at the Golden Peacock Hotel in Malawi, Mr. Mahimbo Mdoe, Acting UN Resident Coordinator of Malawi and UNICEF Representative said, “we know that more needs to be done to end child marriage, to ensure girls stay in school, to stop teenage pregnancies, to stop STI and HIV infections and to ensure that boys and girls have the information and services that they require to be healthy, empowered citizens in their communities”.

He also acknowledged the presence of the Ministers of Gender from the SADC region and stressed the need for all sectors to work together to attain the ESA Commitment targets.

Accepting the honour, Madame Mutharika said, “the endorsement of the eastern southern Africa Commitment came at a critical moment in the region and will provide the momentum needed to address the education and health needs of our future generation. I commit myself to work with the High Level Group to ensure that our region’s adolescents and young people are ready for today and tomorrow.”

The ESA Ministerial Commitment is an initiative of national governments, in partnership with the UN, Southern African Development Community (SADC), East African Community (EAC), civil society and development partners, under the leadership of UNAIDS.

Countries endorsing the ESA Commitment: Angola, Botswana, Burundi, DRC, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

(Visited 3 times, 1 visits today)
Subscribe to our Youtube Channel :

Follow our Instagram