Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) has declared Ward Councillor Descent Msatero Chipangula of Malawi Congress Party (MCP) winner of Matenje Ward by-elections in Kasungu.

Chipangula outclassed Nelson Maseko of Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) with 1,489 votes against 1,203 votes.

Chrifford Joseph Mbewe, an Independent came third with 185 votes,followed by Vincent Phiri Mbakuwaku of Movement for Development (MMD) with 119 votes. Shadreck Mvula, another Independent came last with 55 votes.

UTM Party pulled out of the voting recently, although its candidates standing as independent, while People Party (PP) and othr 50 registered political parties did not participate.

Voting in Matenje Ward was supposed to take place simultaneously with that of parliamentarian for Lilongwe South Constituency. However, MEC postponed the by-election in the constituency due to political violence during campaign.

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)
Subscribe to our Youtube Channel :