The president of Kenya on Saturday announced its borders with neighbouring Somalia and Tanzania would be closed as the African country continued to battle the coronavirus outbreak.

In a briefing, Uhuru Kenyatta said the border would only beopen to lorry drivers, but they would have to undergo tests before being allowedinto Kenya.

Kenya’s crossings with South Sudan, Uganda, and Ethiopiaare not affected as they have seen fewerCOVID-19 infections.Like you, I’m just as anxious for us to get back to normal, to get back to building our country.

However, I also strongly believe that we will only be able to do thisthe sooner we sharply suppress the growth of infections in our country.Kenyatta also announced an extension of a curfew by 21 days, according to local media.

A travel ban in and out of the Nairobi Metropolitan area, the counties of Kilifi, Kwale, Mombasa and Mandera were likewise extended until June 6, local media reported.Kenyatta said lockdown measures would not be eased until the government managed to “sharply suppress the growth of infections in our country.”

As of Sunday, Kenya had 830 confirmed cases of coronavirus,50 deaths and 301 recoveries.

Source : Africanews

(Visited 52 times, 1 visits today)
Subscribe to our Youtube Channel :

Follow our Instagram