The opposition Malawi Congress Party (MCP) has questioned the dominance of the ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) in the newly appointed Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) Commissioners.

Yesterday, President Peter Mutharika announced a new set of the electoral body commissioners led by Justice Chifundo Kachale.

DPP has 4 representatives as commissioners while MCP has 2 a development raised eyebrows of the main opposition party as the two parties were qualified to nominate commissioners.

According to MCP officials, they are engaging their lawyers on the matter.

DPP has four commissioners namely Arthur Nanthuru, Steve Duwa, Jean Mathanga and Linda Kunje.

Nanthuru has bounced back after serving as MEC commissioner in the past years, while Mathanga and Kunje have been maintained from the previous commission.

MCP has two representatives, Anthony Mukumbwa and Olivia Liwewe as its commissioners out of the list they submitted to Mutharika.

Maurice Munthali who speaks for MCP said they are satisfied with the appointments despite the irregularities.

(Visited 19 times, 1 visits today)


Subscribe to our Youtube Channel :

Follow Us on Instagram