High Court Nullifies Chikwawa, Nsanje Parliamentary Elections


The High Court in Blantyre has nullified Parliamentary elections of Nsanje North, Chikwawa East and Nsanje Central constituencies.

Candidates for Malawi Congress Party (MCP) in the three constituencies took Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) to court for declaring incumbent Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) legislators Francis Kasaila (Nsanje Central), Esther Mcheka Chielenje (Nsanje North) and United Democratic Front (UDF) legislator Sam Khumbanyiwa (Chikwawa East) winners of the May 21, 2019 Parliamentary polls.

Those who challenged MEC’s declaration of results are MCP candidates Foster Thipwa (Chikwawa East), Enock Chizuzu (Nsanje North) and Kafandikhale Mandevana (Nsanje Central).

Justice Sylvester Kalembera has since called for a re-run in 60 days.

The ruling comes at a time the country is celebrating 1 year anniversary since the Constitution Court nullified May 19, 2019 presidential elections.

(Visited 140 times, 1 visits today)
Flora Mitumba
Email: info@faceofmalawi.com

Share post:

Featured Video

click to play


More like this

Early Signs That Your Heart Might be Having Issues and When To Visit the Doctor

But truly like each one-of-a-kind organs of the body,...

Old Mutual Installs Piped Oxygen at QECH, Handover 10, 000 Litres Water Tank, Geyser

Queen Elizabeth Central Hospital (QECH) continues to enjoy sound...

Watch|| Bizarre as man captured cuddling a crocodile

Crocodile is one of the most dreaded animals in...