Unofficial results for Nsanje Central Constituency has favoured Kafandikhale Mandevana of Malawi Congress Party (MCP) with 8,230 votes, trouncing Francis Kasaila, a former cabinet minister in the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) administration, who got 6,648 votes.

Nzeru Mybeck of UTM got 331 votes while Esmy Bande of Depeco finished with 72 votes.

The constituency, was first won by Kasaila during the 2019 tripartite elections but Mandevana challenged the results through the Court after Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) declared the former as a winner, citing a plethora of irregularities.

This prompted the Court to order MEC to conduct another election within 60 days.

Court also ordered MEC to conduct the by-elections in Nsanje North and Chikwawa East due to similar reasons.

At least, 24,262 people were registered to cast their votes but only 15,422 went to exercise their voting right.

(Visited 19 times, 19 visits today)


Subscribe to our Youtube Channel :

Follow Us on Instagram