By Chisomo Phiri

The Malawi Electoral Commission ( MEC) chairperson Justice Dr. Chufundo Kachale has officially announced the results for 30th March by-elections held in Karonga North-west constituency, Lilongwe Nsinja South constituency, Ntchisi North constituency, Zomba Changalamu constituency, Chikwawa East constituency, Nsanje North constituency, Nsanje Central constituency, Chitakale Ward and Kiviridzi Ward.

The official results indicate that the following have been declared the winners of the by-elections: Honourable Felex Kafwatu Kaira of UTM- Karonga North -West constituency,  Honourable Francis Berekanyama of MCP-Lilongwe Nsanje South constituency, Honourable Arnold Kadzanja of UTM- Ntchisi North Constituency, Honorable Bizwick Million of Independent- Zomba Changalume constituency, Honorable Rodrick Khumbanyiwa of UDF- Chikwawa East Constituency, Honourable Enock Chizuzu of MCP- Nsanje North constituency, Honourable Kadandikhale Mandevana of MCP- Nsanje Central constituency, Richard Mulingano of DPP- Chitakale Ward and Lucius Elias of DPP- Liviridzi Ward.

In his congratulatory message, the leader of opposition in the national assembly, Honourable Kondwani congratulated the winners and wished them the  best wishes for the victorias win of the by-elections.

” I am pleased to extend my heartful congratulations and best wishes to all the candidates who emerged victorious in the parliamentary and council wars by Elections that took place on Tuesday 30th March, 202, I say congratulations for their victorious win and may God bless them” Congratulated Nankhumwa.

Nankhumwa said one of the basic tenets  of democracy, a system of government that Malawians chose in in the 1993 referendum, is to let people freely choose their representatives through a process of open elections.

He also congratulated Malawi Electoral Commission ( MEC) for conducting credible and  fair elections.

”¬† I also wish to congratulate MEC and all stakeholders who were involved in¬† managing these elections for administering a¬† credible and fair process” Said Nankhumwa.

The by-elections were held on Tuesday 30th March, 2021 in seven ( 7) constituencies and and two( 2) wards across the country following deaths  some elected members of parliament and councilors

(Visited 2 times, 6 visits today)


Subscribe to our Youtube Channel :

Follow Us on Instagram