The Presidential Taskforce on Covid-19 under the Malawi government has announced a ban on travel to and from four countries battling a deadly 3rd wave of Covid-19 to prevent the importation and further spread of the new virus variant.

The Minister of Health, who is also the taskforce’s Co-chairperson, Khumbize Kandodo Chiponda, made the announcements on Monday, April 26 during the Covid-19 update address, while indicating that the ban is with immediate effect.

The countries concerned are Bangladesh, Brazil, India, and Pakistan.

The development comes barely a few days after the Health and Rights Education Programme (HREP) raised an alarm advising the government to put in place guidelines that aim at restricting traveling to and from these countries.

Meanwhile, essential arrivals and travel such as diplomatic and medical travel are allowed.

“Those undertaking essential travel to and from these countries shall be required to undergo mandatory institutional quarantine at designated hotel accommodation at their own cost on arrival into the country,” she explained.

The task force has further directed that such travelers must be in possession of a negative PCR-based Covid-19 test result or certificate for a test conducted no more than 72 hours before arrival in the country.

(Visited 156 times, 1 visits today)


Subscribe to our Youtube Channel :

Follow Us on Instagram