WhatsApp is a chatting, and photo-sharing app used by hundreds of millions of people around the world. So it’s not surprising that WhatsApp lets you block users who you don’t want to hear from anymore.
Blocking someone on WhatsApp is the best way to stop them from calling or messaging you. But if you’re the one who’s been blocked, how can you tell?
Unfortunately, there’s no direct way to find out if you’ve been blocked on WhatsApp. But there are hints that you can use to figure it out.
If you think someone’s blocked you on WhatsApp, run through the checklist below to see if your hunch is true.
Quick tip: If you find out that someone’s blocked you on WhatsApp, the best move is to leave them alone. Repeatedly trying to contact someone who’s blocked you can constitute harassment.
You can’t see a contact’s ‘last seen’ status
The first thing to do is check the user’s “last seen” status. This is a message that updates whenever that user opens WhatsApp, and tells you the last time they used the app.
If you don’t see one, you may have been blocked – although the user might have just disabled the feature on their account.
You don’t see a contact’s new profile picture
If someone blocks you and then changes their profile picture, you won’t see the new profile picture – you’ll always see whatever the image was when you got blocked.
This means that there isn’t a definite way to tell if they’re updating their profile picture. But if you know this contact updated their picture often, and now they’ve suddenly stopped, that’s a sign that you’ve been blocked.
Your messages only show one checkmark
WhatsApp uses checkmark symbols to track your messages. One checkmark symbol next to your message means it’s been sent, while two checkmarks mean that it’s been received.
When you message someone who’s blocked you, that second checkmark won’t ever show up. If you’re connected to the internet and your message still never gets delivered, there’s a good chance that you’re blocked.
Your calls will fail
Similarly, you won’t be able to call anyone that’s blocked you either. When you try, the call won’t go through.
You can’t add the contact to a WhatsApp group.
Finally, try to include the contact in a WhatsApp group. If you get a message saying you aren’t permitted to add them to your group, that’s the surest sign that you were blocked.