Dr Jean Kalirani has been elected secretary-general  at the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) convention currently being held at Comesa Hall in Blantyre city.

Kalirani with 600 votes defeated the one who was acting in the position, Dr Allan Chityembekeza who amassed 136 votes. Other contestants Ted Kalebe for 225 votes and Binstony Kutsaira got 345 votes.

Nicholous Dausi  retained his seat as publicity secretary. Dausi got 1106 votes against his challenger Francis Kasaira who got 228 votes.

Zomba Central lawmaker Yunus Mussa retained his seat as vice president responsible for the East post when he got elected with 514 votes beating, Lonnie Chijere Chirwa 338 votes, Ernest Malenga 186 votes, Ali Allan 179 votes and Kamwendo 80.

Chiradzulu East MP Henry Mussa defeated DPP parliamentary leader George Chaponda on the post Treasure General. Mussa got 908 votes and was followed by southern region governor Noel Masangwi who received 336 votes while Chaponda got and 82 votes.

The post of National organizing secretary has gone to Francis Mphepo who got 354 votes beating Chimwemwe Chipungu with 64 votes and Frank Viyayzi having 313 votes.

Nick Masebo and Dr. Hetherwick Ntaba are vice presidents for the north and Centre respectively. They seat went unopposed.

(Visited 12 times, 1 visits today)
Subscribe to our Youtube Channel :

Follow our Instagram