As voting is still underway in most poling centre, unofficial results from Kasungu district indicate that Malawi Congress Party (MCP) Presidential torchbearer  Dr Lazarus Chakwera is leading with about 63791 votes  from 90 poling centres.

He is followed by the ruling People’s Party (PP) Presidential torchbearer Dr Joyce Banda with 20,121 and Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) Presidential torchbearer Peter Mutharika is coming third with 18481.

Kasungu is one of the MCP strongholds and is having more than 200 poling centres.

MCP is looking for a comeback after a 20 years break.


Subscribe to our Youtube Channel: