President Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika has appointed members of the University of Malawi Council few days after dissolving the old Council over Chancellor College standoff.

This has been disclosed in a press statement released on Thursday signed by Chief Secretary to the President made available to Faceofmalawi.

According to the statement, the Chairperson for the Council is Dr. James Maida, members of the University council are Mrs. Videlias Mluwira, Professor Lewis Mughogho.

Two members to be appointed by the University Council, Principals of the four constituent colleges of the University of Malawi, Four members appointed by the Senate, two members appointed by the UNIMA students Union, The Vice Chancellor of the University of Malawi, Secretary for Education Science and Technology, Secretary to Treasury, Secretary to Human Resource management and development and Comptroller of Statutory Corporation.

Meanwhile, the President has appointed Professor James Bokosi as Chairperson for the board of Directors for the National herbarium and Botanical Gardens.

Professor Bokosi replaces Dr. James Maida who has been appointed chairperson for the University Council. The President Mutharika has also appointed Ms. Dorothy Matiti as a member of the Board of the Directors of the Higher Education Students Loans Board, replacing Mrs. Videlias Mluwira, who has been appointed as a member of the University of Malawi Council.

The appointments are with immediate effect.

(Visited 28 times, 1 visits today)

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel :

Follow Us on Instagram