All the hopeful presidential candidates for May 21 elections shunned the swearing in ceremony for the president elect Peter Mutharika at Kamuzu stadium in Blantyre on Tuesday.

Malawi Congress Party (MCP) leader Lazarus Chakwera who is contesting on the May 21 presidential result election in court shunned the swearing in ceremony of Mutharika.

MCP secretary general Eisenhower Mkaka said Chakwera could not attend the ceremony as the party maintains arguing that there had been serious irregularities during the counting of votes.

Chakwera is not the only one who shunned the ceremony, United Transformation Movement (UTM) Saulos Chilima who is also the former vice president did not attend the event as Everton Chimulirenji succeded him.

Atupele Muluzi, United Democratic Front (UDF) president and Dr. Joyce Banda former president of Malawi who backed Chakwera in the May 21 elections were not also spotted at the swearing in ceremony.

 But former head of state Bakili Muluzi who governed Malawi from 1994-2004, attended the swearing in ceremony of Mutharika and his vice Everton Chimulirenji.

(Visited 24 times, 1 visits today)


Subscribe to our Youtube Channel :

Follow Us on Instagram