Nigeria has barred airlines from a number of countries as it resumes international passenger flights on Saturday.

Ten airlines have not been allowed to operate – including Air France, KLM Royal Dutch from the Netherlands, Lufthansa from Germany, and Etihad Airways from the United Arab Emirates.

This is because Nigerians with tourist visas are not allowed entry into those countries.

Nigeria had said it would retaliate any entry ban against its citizens.

Some of the airlines are not allowed to operate in Nigeria because their own countries have yet to resume international passenger flights.

But flights from 14 airlines will be allowed to land including from British Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Turkish Airlines, Qatar Airways and Ethiopian Airlines.

Nigeria suspended international flights in March as part of efforts to contain the coronavirus pandemic.

The resumption of the flights comes after a week delay due to logistical issues.

It is part of what the authorities called “reopening the economy” affected by the pandemic.

Nigeria has recorded more than 54,000 cases with just over 1,000 deaths but daily infections are beginning to decline.

(Visited 157 times, 1 visits today)


Subscribe to our Youtube Channel :

Follow Us on Instagram