The Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) is today holding by-elections in two Wards in the Southern Region and one constituency in the North.

The three areas are Lalanje Ward in Nsanje, Chikwembere Ward in Blantyre North and Nkhata-Bay Central Constituency.

In Lalanje Ward, most centres voting started at round 6:15 due to some challenges like missing of voters name on the nominal role.

Four Candidates are vying for the seat in the area and these are Abdulhakeen Hassan of Malawi Congress Party- MCP, Fraction Lapozo independent, Gerald Paul- Democratic Progressive Party – DPP, Henry Benford SEDA independent.

Lalanje ward in Nsanje has a total of 17 thousand 937 registered voters, with twenty five polling stations.

In Chikwembere Ward, voting commenced at 06:00 o’clock in most of the polling centres.

17,959 people are expected to cast their vote for either of the 6 candidates contesting for the local government seat in the By-elections.

In Nkhata-Bay Central Constituency, voting has also commenced with few numbers of registered voters trickling to various polling centres.

Three people are battling out in the election namely, Gabriel Chirwa of UDF, Ralphael Mhone of Peoples party and Symon Vuwa Kaunda of Democratic Progressive Party.

The constituency has about 17,689 registered voters from its two wards.

Faceofmalawi will keep you update…

(Visited 6 times, 6 visits today)

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel :

Follow Us on Instagram